Tags

, , , , ,

With my Husband away hunting wild turkey, my youngest son at a sleep over, and my daughter at a sewing lesson – I dropped my oldest child at his school dance (wearing dark green Boy Scout shorts and a shirt in a color that didn’t remotely match – but bravely choosing to go even though none of his friends would be there) I ended up with two delicious hours ALL TO MYSELF on a Friday night!! It was a glorious relaxing time, and once every one I was responsible for had been picked up, returned home, and readied for bed, I continued to savor the evening but this time with an exquisite, relaxing cocktail in hand.

SUMAC MINT FIZZ

sumac mint fizz

3/4 cup sugar

3 tablespoons sumac

2 limes, halved and sliced, plus wedges for serving

1/2 cup fresh mint leaves

vodka

sparkling water

Bring sugar and 3/4 cup water to a boil in a small saucepan, stirring until sugar is dissolved. Stir in sumac. Remove from heat, let cool completely. Strain mixture, discarding solids. Refrigerate, covered until cold.

Muddle limes and mint in the bottom of a large pitcher. Stir in vodka and sumac syrup. Add ice and top with sparkling water (I mixed the cocktail in a glass, adjusting the amount of ingredients). Serve in ice-filled glasses garnished with lime wedges and additional mint.

Enjoy!