Tags

, , , , , , ,

A friend sent me this recipe more than two years ago with the comment “this sounds great but I don’t understand some of the descriptions – need a kiwi translator”. Although it took me a while to bake these wonderful Chocolate Dipped ANZAC Biscuits, once I did the kids enthusiastically consumed them even before the chocolate had cooled – with my Son saying how lucky I was to grow up eating these!! I had planned to deliver some to my thoughtful friend, along with interpretations and explanations, but my insatiable family made that impossible!!!

CHOCOLATE DIPPED ANZAC BISCUITS

chocolate dipped ANZAC biscuits

1 cup flour

1 cup sugar

1 cup desiccated coconut

2 cups rolled oats

125 grams butter

2 tablespoons golden syrup

1 teaspoon baking soda

3 tablespoons boiling water

1 cup chocolate, melted

Heat oven to 180C. Line baking trays with parchment paper.

Place the flour, sugar, coconut and oats in a bowl and stir to combine. Make a well in the center.

Place the butter and golden syrup in a saucepan and stir until the butter is melted.

Dissolve the baking soda in the boiling water. Add the butter mixture and the dissolved baking soda to the dry ingredients and mix to combine.

Roll heaped teaspoon amounts of the mixture into balls and place on the prepared baking trays.

Bake for 8 to 10 minutes until firm and golden brown. Remove to a rack to cool.

Dip one half of each biscuit into melted chocolate and allow to cool before serving.

Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Baking Makes Things Better

www.bakingmakesthingsbetter.com/

