Tags

, , , , , , ,

First thing in the morning will find me taking my thyroid medicine with a swallow of water, moisturizing my face, and glossing my lips, changing into my exercise clothes and oftentimes making my way to the laundry room to put on the first load of the day before going downstairs to walk on the treadmill.

On this particular morning, my trusty partner in cleanliness was clearly worn out. After emitting a few clicks and moving straight to the wash cycle – agitating clothes without any water, I informed my husband our washing machine was broken down and no longer functioning.

By the end of the day, having cooked dinner (Chicken with a Creamy Mustard Sauce) tried out a new exercise class with friends, and cleaned up layers of dust and years of randomly dropped objects out from behind the washer and dryer, my husband, to my everlasting gratitude and delight, installed the new washing machine he had purchased after leaving work that day.

CHICKEN WITH A CREAMY MUSTARD SAUCE

chicken with a creamy mustard sauce

2 teaspoons oil

3 tablespoons flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

4 chicken breasts

1/3 cup sour cream

1/4 cup chicken broth

1 tablespoon Dijon mustard

3 tablespoons mayonnaise

chopped fresh dill

In a large skillet, heat oil on medium. Mix flour, salt and 1/4 teaspoon of the pepper in a plate or bowl. Lightly coat chicken in flour mixture. Add chicken to skillet and cook 7 to 8 minutes, turning once or until golden on the outside and juices run clear. Remove to a plate, cover to keep warm. Reduce heat to low. Meanwhile, mix together sour cream, chicken broth, mustard and mayonnaise. Add to skillet. Simmer for 1 minute. Serve chicken with sauce, and dill sprinkled on top.

Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from The Arkansas Democrat Gazette, April 2006

www.arkansasonline.com/

