Tags

, , , , , , ,

My son is taking ukulele lessons and one of the songs he recently learnt was “I can’t help falling in love with you”, igniting a passion for the music of Elvis Presley. I do find it comical that this performer, who was seen by some as “a definite danger to the security of the United States” and “unfit for family viewing”, is now someone I encourage my young Son to watch and be inspired by.

While researching the life story of Elvis Presley further with my eager 9 year old, we discovered January was the month of his birth, that he was a dedicated student of karate and that his father had spent time in jail for writing a bad check, but what really captivated my Son, was a description of the singers favorite sandwich. So for dinner the following evening, I browned a Peanut Butter, Banana and Bacon creation in a little butter, and made cookies for dessert.

peanut butter and banana and bacon sandwich

JAILHOUSE ROCKS

jailhouse rocks

1 cup butter

2 1/2 cups sugar

4 eggs

3 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1 cup candy-coated chocolate pieces

2 cups chocolate chips

Heat oven to 365F.

In a medium bowl, cream together the butter and sugar. Stir in the eggs one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Add the flour and baking soda, mix until just combined. Stir in the candy-coated chocolate pieces and the chocolate chips.

Drop by tablespoonfuls onto a cookie sheet lined with a non-stick baking mat. Bake for  8 to 10 minutes.

Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Allrecipes

allrecipes.com/recipe/15332/jailhouse-rocks/

