Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I recently read a book that mentioned a dish by renowned food writer, MFK Fisher, Eggs with Anchovies, and I was immediately intrigued. I researched a recipe and once I had given the kids a simple dinner and put them to bed, I made the eggs for an indulgent, sensuous late night dinner with my husband, and paired them with a crisp white wine and hot buttered toast.

EGGS WITH ANCHOVIES

eggs with anchovies

8 eggs

1/2 tin anchovies

2 cups cream

2 1/2 cups assorted mushrooms, diced

2 tablespoons butter

2 tablespoons chopped parsley

1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese

freshly ground black pepper

Melt butter in a skillet over medium heat, stir in the anchovies until they start to dissolve, add mushrooms and cook until softened. Add cream, stirring occasionally, until thickened. Break the eggs into the mixture and top with the cheese and pepper. Cook until eggs are firm. Sprinkle with parsley.

Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from M.F.K. Fisher, How to Cook a Wolf, 1942

mfkfisher.com/

