Tags

, , , ,

I could count on one finger the amount of times I had sampled a fresh artichoke, with friends nearby having to advise me how to navigate my way around the rather prickly leaves, and finally to the heart. Although I had certainly never attempted to cook one, I kept coming across recipes with clear instructions to prepare this member of the thistle family, and with guidance from my husband, who frequently ate them growing up, I attempted Artichokes with Citrus and Caper Aioli. It was much easier than I thought it would be, and a delicious and fun start to our family dinner on the back deck.

ARTICHOKES WITH CITRUS AND CAPER AIOLI

artichoke with citrus and caper aioli

FOR THE AIOLI

2 eggs

1 clove garlic, minced

2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice

1 1/2 cups olive oil

1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes

1 teaspoon capers, drained

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

FOR THE ARTICHOKES

1 tablespoon butter

1 lemon, halved

4 artichokes

1/4 cup fresh lemon juice

4 tablespoons olive oil

freshly ground black pepper

Put eggs, garlic and lemon juice into a food processor and pour in oil while blending. Once the mixture has thickened, turn off the food processor and add red pepper flakes, capers, salt and pepper. Pulse to combine.

Fill a large pot with water, 1 tablespoon of salt and lemon halves. Bring to a boil over medium heat, then add artichokes. Cover and cook for 35 minutes. Remove from water and serve with aioli.

Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Shape, July 2012

www.shape.com/

