Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

It has been a few weeks since I have been to my 5:30am yoga class. It seems there are many excuses to miss – Spring Break and traveling, a minor medical procedure, snuggling further under the covers in my cozy bed, stopping my Thyroid medication (although my expanding waistline encouraged me to promptly refill my prescription). However, it is one of my very favorite ways to start the day – a quiet, pleasantly dim, warm room with no internal judgement or pressure on myself to execute the poses perfectly. So this morning when my alarm chimed at 5am, I pulled on a pair of pants, fresh from the sale rack at Old Navy, brushed my teeth, smoothed my hair and applied a little spray, pencilled in my eyebrows, and made the 6 minute drive to the yoga studio. Apart from the feeling of serenity and accomplishment I feel afterwards, I also find I want to eat better and healthier all day, and more carefully choose what I fuel my body with.

SUMMER SALAD WITH MUSTARD VINAIGRETTE – FAYETTEVILLE PILATES AND BARRE

summer salad with mustard vinaigrette

spring mix

1 cup seeded and sliced English cucumber

1/2 cup sliced radish

1/2 cup carrot ribbons

salt

freshly ground black pepper

MUSTARD VINAIGRETTE

1/2 cup sherry vinegar

2 tablespoons minced shallot

2 tablespoons Dijon mustard

1 tablespoon honey

1 teaspoons minced garlic

salt

freshly ground black pepper

1 to 1 1/2 cups olive oil

SALAD

In a large bowl, combine lettuce, cucumber, radish, carrot and season to taste with salt and pepper. Drizzle with desired amount of Mustard Vinaigrette and serve.

MUSTARD VINAIGRETTE

In a medium bowl, combine vinegar and shallot. Let stand for 15 minutes. Add mustard, honey, garlic, season with salt and pepper, and whisk to combine. Gradually add olive oil, whisking constantly until mixture is smooth. Cover and chill for at least 2 hours before using.

Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Entertain Decorate Celebrate, May/June 2014

www.celebratemag.com/

