Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Growing up, Easter morning was all about THE chocolate bunny – and the bigger the better. We never celebrated with egg hunts, Church services, a new Easter dress or decorating eggs, and to be honest, with the exception of attending church (because my husband is committed), I’m not great about doing those things with my kids. When they were younger, I would unenthusiastically transport them to an egg hunt if someone else had organized it, a couple of years I spent time wandering the mall looking for matching outfits for the three of them, and have invested in many egg dying kits, only to pack them away up in the attic unopened, with a sigh of relief, once the Easter weekend was over.

This year however, I became inspired when I found these simple, easy recipes to color eggs, and also by the fact that I had shopped for Easter treats weeks before and was feeling rather proud of myself and quite organized. So even though there were no pretty new clothes, and my kids had Easter bags this year instead of baskets because I wasn’t as together as I thought, they did acquire a sizable selection of chocolate (some bought from fun candy stores on our travels around the country), a small gift to brighten the day, and an evening at home experimenting with boiled eggs.

These eggs can be colored with ingredients that you already have on hand in your pantry – even if they have been hidden for years down the bottom of a box that also holds a collection of 24 different types of tea and hot cocoa mix (which is where I discovered a lone packet of raspberry flavored kool-aid when I had a friend over for a cup of black pekoe). The turmeric root was much fresher, I had only just found it at our local supermarket and was excited to use it as I hadn’t ever seen in in stores  before, but you could easily substitute dried turmeric.

kool eggs

KOOL EGGS

Combine 2/3 cup water and 1 packet kool-aid. Stir to dissolve. Submerge hard-boiled egg in mixture until desired color is reached. Less time for lighter colors, more time for deeper hues.

Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Do South Magazine

dosouthmagazine.com/

NATURAL BEAUTY

Place fresh turmeric root, coarsely chopped, into a saucepan with 2 cups of water. Bring mixture to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 30 minutes. Strain dye through paper towels into a container. Submerge hard-boiled eggs in cooled dye, let soak for as little as 5 seconds or as long as overnight, depending on the depth of color you desire. Remove eggs with a spoon, place on paper towels or rack to dry.

Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Do South Magazine

dosouthmagazine.com/

 

