Tags

, ,

The night before my youngest son was due to have his tonsils out, he requested steak and chocolate cake. As I haven’t yet mastered cooking the perfect steak, we decided to go out for dinner. However, I do feel confident in my baking abilities, so I made these Individual Chocolate Cakes for dessert, and they were devoured once we were home.

INDIVIDUAL CHOCOLATE CAKES

individual chocolate cakes

8 tablespoons unsalted butter

4 ounces semi-sweet chocolate

2 whole eggs

2 egg yolks

1/3 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 tablespoon cake flour

Heat oven to 450F.

Melt butter and chocolate in a double boiler (I just put them in a regular saucepan and cook over low heat, stirring frequently).

Whip eggs, egg yolks, sugar and vanilla with a mixer for about 10 minutes on high speed. Fold melted chocolate and butter into the egg mixture. Fold in the flour just until combined. Butter and sugar 4, 6 ounce ramekins, then spoon an even portion of mixture into each.

Bake for 9 to 10 minutes. The center will be quite soft but the top and sides will be set. Let sit, out of the oven for about 5 minutes, then unfold onto a plate (I left mine in the ramekins). Serve with raspberries and whipped cream if desired.

Enjoy!

 

