Tags

, , , , , ,

Friends recently came from Louisiana, to spend the weekend with us, and I had planned out dinner for the first night, and done the grocery shopping, but hadn’t read the recipe through all the way. I meandered into the kitchen a couple of hours before our guests were due, to begin dinner preparations, and realized the dish I had chosen required 12 hours of marinating time, that I hadn’t factored in and didn’t have. So the scramble began for an alternative. I came across this Honey Baked Chicken recipe, that was a typical dinner I would make in my flatting days – easy and quick – perfect.

I then made chicken salad with the left overs, for a lovely lunch over simple greens, while we reminisced about the fun and fabulous weekend.

HONEY BAKED CHICKEN

paprika baked chicken

chicken breasts

1/2 cup honey

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup melted butter

1/4 cup mild mustard

1 teaspoon curry powder

Place chicken in lightly greased, shallow baking dish. Mix melted butter with honey, mustard, salt and curry powder. Pour over chicken and bake at 180C, for 35 to 45 minutes, or until chicken is cooked, basting every 15 minutes.

Enjoy!

CHICKEN SALAD

chicken salad

4 cups cooked, chopped chicken

4 celery ribs, diced

1 cup toasted walnuts, coarsely chopped

1 cup mayonnaise

1/2 cup honey mustard

salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

Stir together all ingredients in a large bowl, until blended.

Serve immediately.

Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Southern Living

 

 

