Tags

, , , , , ,

I picked up a rotisserie chicken from the supermarket for dinner, and the kids from school, after their activities and clubs were finished.
I planned to meet friends at a local yoga studio, Urban Asana, to try an aerial yoga class for the first time, but before I gamely threw my yoga mat over my shoulder and walked to the studio, I made this Coconut Mango Pudding. My husband and I chatted and caught up on the events of the day, as I chopped and cooked and poured and cooled.
Although I had difficulty trusting I wasn’t going to crash to the ground, and as uncoordinated and ungraceful as I was, it was a really great experience, and one I would definitely repeat for the novelty, but probably not how I would regularly choose to practice.

Amber at Urban Asana Yoga

COCONUT MANGO PUDDING

1 cup ripe mango, cut into small cubes
1/2 cup sugar
2 tablespoons plus 1 teaspoon of cornstarch
pinch of salt
3 eggs
1 (13 ounce) can of coconut milk

Combine sugar, cornstarch and salt in a medium saucepan. Add eggs and coconut milk, and beat until well mixed. Cook over a medium heat, whisking constantly until pudding thickens, about 3 to 4 minutes.
Remove from heat. Gently mix mango into pudding. Pour into small custard cups or decorative bowl. Cover, and refrigerate until cool.
Decorate with toasted coconut and/or extra mango before serving, if desired.
Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from The Morning News
April 2004